Unit History


1947: After its inception as a separate military service, the US Air Force established an Air Force ROTC four-year commissioning program at the University of Notre Dame.

1972: Beginning with the freshman class of 1972, women were fully integrated into life at Notre Dame. Two women were enrolled in AFROTC.

1990: The three Notre Dame ROTC branches move into their new, state-of-the-art home -- Pasquerilla Center

1993: A Cadet Joint Staff was created with the cadet chair coming from the year's lead service. Joint cadet operations began with the 1993-94 academic year. Key events include: POW/MIA Retreat, Veterans' Day Retreat, Joint Ball, Annual Presidential Parade and Awards Ceremony, and Commissioning.

Current Status: The Department of Aerospace Studies is under the jurisdiction of the University Provost. The Department Chairman/Professor of Aerospace Studies reports to the Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies.

Crosstown/consortium agreements are in effect between the US Air Force and the following schools: University of Notre DameSaint Mary's CollegeHoly Cross CollegeValparaiso University, and Trine University. Students enrolled at these institutions are eligible to participate in the program at Detachment 225.

Detachment 225 was awarded the Air Force Right-of-Line Award in 1983, 1985, and 1990, recognizing it as the top unit in the nation.